Samoa joined the Hague Apostille Convention on September 13, 1999. (Convention of 5 October 1961 Abolishing the Requirement of Legalization for Foreign Public Documents).

In the Samoa, the designated Competent Authority to issue Apostilles is the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade. Apostilles authenticate the seals and signatures of officials on public documents such as birth certificates, notarial, court orders, or any other document issued by a public authority, so that they can be recognized in foreign countries that are parties to the Convention.

Public documents include:

  • Documents emanating from an authority or an official connected with the courts or tribunals of the state, including those emanating from a public prosecutor, a clerk or a process server;
  • Administrative documents;
  • Notarial acts; and
  • Official certificates which are placed on documents signed by persons in their private capacity, such as official certificates recording the registration of a document or the fact that it was in existence on a certain date and official; and notarial authentication’s of signatures.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade charges $30USD per apostille stamp. If further certification is required (document to be sent out to other Missions like the Phillipines), the apostilled document is sent to the Samoa High Commission in Wellington. The Samoa High Commission of Wellington charges $10NZD admin. fee per document and $65USD per apostille stamp.

The following 69 countries are members of the Hague Convention and all legally accept and recognise a document with an Apostille. Other countries may also accept an Apostille, however, please contact us for further advice.

  1. Albania
  2. Argentina
  3. Australia
  4. Austria
  5. Belarus
  6. Belgium
  7. Bosnia and Herzegovina
  8. Brazil
  9. Bulgaria
  10. Canada
  11. Chile
  12. China, People’s Republic of
  13. Croatia
  14. Cyprus
  15. Czech Republic
  16. Denmark
  17. Ecuador
  18. Egypt
  19. Estonia
  20. European Community
  21. Finland
  22. France
  23. Georgia
  1. Germany
  2. Greece
  3. Hungary
  4. Iceland
  5. India
  6. Ireland
  7. Israel
  8. Italy
  9. Japan
  10. Jordan
  11. Korea, Republic of
  12. Latvia
  13. Lithuania
  14. Luxembourg
  15. Malaysia
  16. Malta
  17. Mexico
  18. Monaco
  19. Montenegro
  20. Morocco
  21. Netherlands
  22. New Zealand
  23. Norway
  1. Panama
  2. Paraguay
  3. Peru
  4. Poland
  5. Portugal
  6. Romania
  7. Russian Federation
  8. Serbia
  9. Slovakia
  10. Slovenia
  11. South Africa
  12. Spain
  13. Sri Lanka
  14. Suriname
  15. Sweden
  16. Switzerland
  17. The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
  18. Turkey
  19. Ukraine
  20. United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  21. United States of America
  22. Uruguay
  23. Venezuela
Print Friendly, PDF & Email